Take Action: #JusticeForBerta!

US House of Representatives Needed to Co-Sponsor Berta Cáceres Human Rights Act — Call Today!

Mural of Berta Cáceres at the World Social Forum, Montreal. Photo Credit: Stephen Bartlett.

Dear community,

We are excited about the growing movement to stop US support for repression in Honduras. Since June 15th, around 30 US Representatives have signed on as co-sponsors to H.R. 5474, the Berta Cáceres Human Rights in Honduras Act! Can youtake action to get your representative to co-sponsor this important bill?

Introduced by Rep. Johnson (GA), H.R. 5474 calls for suspension of U.S. military and police aid to Honduras until human rights violations committed by Honduran security forces cease and their perpetrators are brought to justice. Click here to read the provisions included in the bill.

Continue reading

About HR 5474: Berta Cáceres Human Rights in Honduras Act

On July 14, 2016, bill HR 5474, the Berta Cáceres Human Rights in Honduras Act, was introduced to the US House of Representatives by Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA), Conyers (MI), Ellison (MN), Kaptur (OH), Serrano (NY), and Schakowsky (IL).

Why is this legislation important?

HR 5474 marks a great advancement toward ending the repression in Honduras that the US has historically financed and backed. The US government has financially and politically supported the Honduran state, military, and police in their human rights abuses, violent persecution, and killing of indigenous peoples, environmentalists, and frontline activists in Honduras. In 2009, the US State Department backed the coupthat ousted the progressive, democratically-elected President Manuel Zelaya, creating the space for the US to influence Honduran politics and leading to the conditions that have resulted in repression and violence against activists, women, grassroots and indigenous movements, and many on the frontlines of protecting their communities, lands, and bodies.

Continue reading

COPINH Film: Unrelenting Rebellion

COPINH’s new film, Unrelenting Rebellion, illustrates their struggles and courage, recounting their history and ambitions going forward in the work for justice in their community. Check it out in English and Spanish

“With our autonomy, self-determination, pressure and mobilization, we have been able to get community land titles. We have been able to get roads, schools, all types of benefits.” (Tomás Gómez Membreño, General Coordinator of COPINH) 

For more information:


BREAKING NEWS: The BERTA CÁCERES HUMAN RIGHTS IN HONDURAS ACT (H.R. 5474) has just been introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives, demanding a suspension of all U.S. military and police aid to Honduras!! This important bill is introduced on the Global Day of Action for Justice for Berta!

The bill states that “The Honduran police are widely established to be deeply corrupt and to commit human rights abuses, including torture, rape, illegal detention, and murder, with impunity” and that the military has committed violations of human rights, and therefore asks that the United States suspend all “…security assistance to Honduran military and police until such time as human rights violations by Honduran state security forces cease and their perpetrators are brought to justice.” 

The bill features the following demands:

  • All U.S. aid to Honduran security forces must cease, and the U.S. must vote no on all loans from multinational development banks to Honduras until the following conditions are met:


    • A full investigation and prosecution into the murders of Berta Cáceres, 100 small-farmer activists in the Aguán Valley, Joel Palacios Lino and Elvis Armando García.

    • A full investigation and prosecution of the armed attack against Félix Molina.
    • A full investigation and prosecution of those members of the Honduran military and police forces who have committed human rights abuses.
  • That the Honduran military withdraw from domestic policing, as mandated in the constitution.
  • That the rights of “…land rights defenders; trade unionists; journalists; Indigenous, Afro-Indigenous, small farmer and LGBTI activists; human rights defenders; critics of the government; and other civil society activists…” are protected.
  • Take steps toward establishing the rule of law and strong democratic systems such as a functioning judiciary branch capable of prosecuting member of the military and police forces.

Representatives Johnson (GA), Conyers (MI), Ellison (MN), Kaptur (OH), Serrano (NY), and Schakowsky (IL) are the initial co-sponsors of the bill, led by Johnson (see his press release here). We need your help securing more sponsors! All members of Congress are possible signers.


1. Call your Representative’s office and ask to speak to the foreign policy aide. Use the script below in speaking with the aide. If the aide has not seen the bill, ask for the aide’s email address so that you can forward a copy of the bill. If the foreign policy aide is not available, ask to leave a message on their voice mail. Be sure to get the name foreign policy staffer so you can follow up.

*To co-sponsor the bill (or if the staffer wishes an official copy of the bill), you representative’s staffer must contact Sasha Foertsch (Sascha.Foertsch@mail.house.gov) in Rep. Johnson’s (GA) office. (NOTE: please do not contact Rep. Johnson’s staff yourself, but ask the staffer to do so). 

Script: “My name is _____. I am a constituent from (your town/city) in (your state). I am calling to ask Rep. _____ to co-sponsor H.R. 5474, The Berta Cáceres Human Rights in Honduras Act calling for a suspension of U.S. security aid to Honduras until human rights violations committed by the Honduran security forces cease. Has Rep. _______ seen this bill? Can I count on him/her to sign on? Please call me this week at (_your phone number_) to let me know if you have seen the letter, and if Rep. _____ will sign it.”      

**In your phone conversation, please highlight why this letter is important to you, especially if you have traveled to Honduras or heard a Honduran speak in your community.  

2. Follow up with your Representative.  It’s useful to follow up with an email to the aide. Here are some useful articles to share:

If you learn that your Representative has agreed to support this bill, please notify Elise Roberts, at wfpumw@witnessforpeace.org so co-sponsorship can be confirmed with Rep. Johnson’s office.

While there is not a deadline for Reps to co-sponsor, we need to build momentum and rally our representatives while there is a lot of press and events for the day of action! (See the interview today on Democracy Now! with Tomás Gómez Membreño of COPINH on the Global Day of Action and with Rep. Hank Johnson on this historic Honduran human rights bill.) There will be immediate counter-pressures on all Reps. not to sign the bill, and we’ll need to get out of the gate fast, and keep the pressure on.



  • If you are in the district of one of the five original sponsors, please send them enourmous thanks and get your friends to, as well. They are up for re-election and need support from the district for taking on this issue. Schakowsky’s name does not show up in the current typseset version of the bill, but she is an initial co-sponsor along with the other five.
  • In addition to the previous signers, below, ALL members are very important to get to sign on, including those who did not sign the previous letter. Republicans matter, too—some of them do not support U.S. foreign security aid.
Congressmember Email Phone
Bass (CA) Janice.Bashford@mail.house.gov (202) 225-7084
Bera (CA) Sahil.Jain@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5716
Blumenauer (OR) Kelsey.Aulakh@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4811
Bonamici (OR) jack.arriaga@mail.house.gov (202) 225-0855
Bustos (IL) lyron.blum-ezitts@mail.house.gov (202)-225-5905
Cicciline (RI) Sarah.Trister@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4911
Clarke (NY) Adam.Abramson@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6231
Clay (MO) Yvette.Cravins@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2406
Cleaver (MO) Christina.Mahoney@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4535
Coleman-Watson (IL) Kevin.Block@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5801
D. Davis (IL) Caleb.Gilchrist@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5006
DeFazio (OR) megan.debates@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6416
DeLauro (CT) brandon.honore@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3661
DeSaulnier (CA) Sarah.Jackson@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2095
Doggett (TX) bryan.botello@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4865
Edwards (MD) Chris.Schloesser@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8699
Eshoo (CA) Hannah.Murphy@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8104
Gallego (AZ) Matt.Lee2@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4065
Grijalva (AZ) Yesenia.Chavez@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2435
Gutiérrez (IL) annerose.menachery@mail.house.gov (202)225-8203
Holmes Norton (DC) Jason.Spear@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8050
Honda (CA) Helen.Beaudreau@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2631
Keating (MA) kerry.o’brien@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3111
Kirkpatrick (AZ) makenzie.mastrud@mail.house.gov (202)-225-3361
Kind (WI) aaron.white@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5506
Lee (CA) christopher.livingston@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2661
Levin (MI) Eden.Forsythe@mail.house.gov (888) 810-3880
Lewis (GA) Jamila.Thompson@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3801
Lieu (CA) Corey.Jacobson@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3976
Linda Sanchez (CA) Andrew.Noh@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6676
Lofgren (CA) melody.reis@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3072
Lowenthal (CA) emily.strombom@mail.house.gov (202) 225-7924
Lynch (MA) mariana.osorio@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8273
Maloney (NY) rebecca.tulloch@mail.house.gov (202)-225-7944
McCollum (MN) bill.harper@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6631
McDermott (WA) lona.watts@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3106
McGovern (MA) Cindy.Buhl@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6101
Nadler (NY), Ben.Freeman@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5635
Nolan (MN) joe.stanoch@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6211
O’Rourke (TX) diana.ramos@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4831
Pallone ani.tounajan@mail.house.gov 202 225 4671
Payne (NJ) LaVerne.Alexander@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3436
Peters (CA) Anthony.Nguyen@mail.house.gov (202)-225-0508
Pingree (ME) Joe.Marro@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6116
Pocan (WI) Leslie.Zelenko@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2906
Quigley (IL) Allison.Jarus@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4061
Rangel (NY) benjamin.garcia@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4365
Scott (VA) Amanda.Armstrong@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8351
Slaughter (NY) jack.spasiano@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3615
Speier (CA) justin.vogt@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3531
Tonko (NY) brendan.larkin@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5076
Torres (CA) clay.boggs@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6161
Van Hollen (MD) Ken.Cummings@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5341
Velazquez (NY) Jonathan.Martinez@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2361
Waters (CA) Kathleen.Sengstock@mail.house.goc (202) 225-2201
Welch (VT) Patrick.Satalin@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4115
Yarmuth (KY) Jessica.Phelps@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5401
Other Major Targets    
Becerra (CA) Moh.Sharma@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6235
Bordallo (Guam) jason.mcmahon@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1188
Capps (CA) Adriane.Casalotti@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3601
Capuano (MA) eliza.ramirez@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5111
Cárdenas (CA) katherine.pereira@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6131
Castro (TX) Ben.Thomas@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3236
Chu (CA) Ben.Suarato@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5464
Cummings (MD) suzanne.owen@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4741
Dent (PA) sean.snyder@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6411
Duckworth (IL) James.Jarosz@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3711
Engel (NY) Eric.Jacobstein@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2464
Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX) Carrie.Swope@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8885
Farr (CA) Ana.Sorrentino@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2861
Frankel (FL) Aliyah.Dash@mail.house.gov (202) 225-9890
Fudge (OH) Clifton.Williams@mail.house.gov (202) 225-7032
Garamendi (CA) Gabriel.Sehr@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1880
Grayson (FL) Shilpa.Finnerty@mail.house.gov (202) 225-9889
Hahn (CA) Justin.Vogt@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8220
Hastings (FL) Alcee.Hastings@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1313
Huffman (CA) scott.rasmussen@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5161
Israel (NY) Jessica.Schwartz@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3335
Jackson Lee (TX) Abiola.Afolayan@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3816
Jeffries (NY) Ashley.Moss@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5936
Kelly (PA) Brandon.Webb@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5406
Kennedy (MA) Caroline.Darmod@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5931
Kildee (MI) Thomas.Woodburn@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3611
Kilmer (WA) Aaron.Wasserman@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5916
Larson (CT) Srdan.Banjac@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2265
Loretta Sanchez (CA) annie.yea@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6676
Lowey (NY) Marin.Stein@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6506
Lujan (NM) Scott.Stockwell@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6190
Lujan Grisham (NM) John.Richter@mail.house.gov, (202) 225-6316
Matsui (CA) Megan.Sussman@mail.house.gov (202) 225-7163
McNerny (NM) Jackie.Silvers@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1947
Meeks (NY) Sophia.LaFargue@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3461
Meng (NY) David.Bagby@mail.house.gov, (202) 225-2601
Moore (WI) chris.goldson@mail.house.gov 202-225-4572
Napolitano (CA) Joseph.Cieconi@mail.house.gov, (202) 225-5256
Polis (CO) Camilla.Vogt@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2161
Price (NC) jackson.tufts@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1784
Richmond (LA) Peter.Hunter@mail.house.gov (202) 225-6636
Roybal-Allard (CA) Adam.Sachs@mail.house.gov (202) 225-1766
Ruiz (CA) Erin.Doty@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5330
Ruppersberger (MD) dutch.ruppersberger@mail.house.gov 202-225-3061
Rush (IL) bobby.rush@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4372
Sarbanes (MD) Peter.Gelman@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4016
Schrader (OR) zach.stokes@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5711
Smith (WA) Piero.Tozzi@mail.house.gov (202) 225-8901
Susan Davis (CA) Annika.Parks@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2040
Swalwell (CA) Katelynn.Anderson@mail.house.gov (202) 225-5065
Takano (CA) Julia.Steinberger@mail.house.gov (202) 225-2305
Thompson (CA) Jennifer.Goedke@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3311
Tsongas, (MA) Sean.Duggan@mail.house.gov (202) 225-3411
Vargas (CA) Aaron.Allen@mail.house.gov 202-225-8045
Wasserman Schultz (FL) Sarah.Arkin@mail.house.gov (202) 226-2052
Wilson (FL) Corey.Solow@mail.house.gov (202) 225-4506